XC Camp

Nothing like a few days isolated in the mountains of South Carolina to clear my mind.

20130623-220234.jpg
This is my 7th year making this summer running trip to Cross Country camp, and my 4th year as a counselor. It was good to get away from everything and hit the trails with some pretty awesome people. But now I have a lot of catching up to do – especially with the USA Outdoor Track and Field Championships. Mary Cain, is that a joke? Crazy crazy girl.

Anyway, camp was great, had a lot of good times and hard workouts, but I definitely got off the paleo grind for a minute. It was hard to keep it together with bread and cereal and pasta all around me, especially after a long run. I don’t know if it is just mental, but i feel like a detox is in order. Hopefully it won’t be hard to get back into the swing of things, i’m feeling real sluggish now. At least I have phone service and internet back, although I can’t really decide if I even missed it. i liked being unreachable.

Samuel Vazquez flew in to visit and speak to the campers on our last night, and it was just so inspirational. I met Sam back in my first year at camp, when he was a counselor and I was brand new to running. I’ve always looked up to him and admired him for many reasons, but his talk about his journey to the Olympics was such a rush. Learning about his struggles and his hard times on and off the track left me with an even deeper respect for him, and motivation to pursue my own dreams. Sometimes I get unsure of myself, and lack confidence of my strengths and abilities, especially when I am surrounded by people that are so talented and superior to myself.

But the thing is, we all have to start somewhere. And I think our limits actually lie far beyond our awareness. I might have to take 40 minutes off of my marathon time to qualify for the Olympics, but who says I can’t do that. Won’t know unless I go for it.

Leave a Reply

